Review: Chaos Coastal Toque

Chaos Coastal Toque

 


 

I bought the Chaos Coastal Toque this past weekend before heading out on a 9Km hike at Hilton Falls Conservation Area. I was eager to see how it would perform in real world conditions.

Pros:

  • Keeps my head at a perfect temperature.
  • Great fit.
  • Stylish.
  • Made in Canada!

Cons:

  • Colour selection. (Not really a big deal.)

Review:

The Chaos Coastal Toque is longer than the usual beanie style toque. Since there’s more material available, you can choose to wear it a couple of different ways. I pulled the toque on, then rolled the bottom up a bit so that my ear lobes were still covered. I also positioned it to run across my face slightly above my eyebrows. Once on my head, it sat snugly in place for the entirety of the hike. If I had needed to, it would have been quick and easy to roll it up a few more times allowing for some heat to escape. At the beginning of the hike, I had my shell hood up over top of the toque. When I moved my head around with the hood up, the toque followed my head movements; it did not twist around or drop down over my eyes. This was an important test for me. It’s extremely annoying to have a toque move around and block your vision, not to mention dangerous. It was -8 Celsius (after the windchill) out during the hike. The Chaos Coastal Toque kept my head at that “Goldilocks” temperature the entire time; juuust right. I didn’t feel any wind cutting through and it didn’t roast my head either. The toque, made of 50% wool and 50% acrylic, is very comfy to wear. It’s fairly soft to the touch and did not irritate my skin at all. The construction quality of the Chaos Coastal Toque is really nice. It feels sturdy and will likely last quite a long while. Lastly, I love the fact that it was made in Canada. I’m a huge advocate of buying Canadian-made or USA-made products. I try and do so whenever I can. Unfortunately, it’s a lot harder than you would think.

Final Thoughts:

  • I’m looking forward to pulling this toque on again and again for many more winter hikes. It keeps my head happy while I’m out on the trail.

5 out of 5

 

 

 

Copyright © 2015, Ben Aerssen. All rights reserved.

2 Comments

Filed under Clothing, Gear, Winter

2 responses to “Review: Chaos Coastal Toque

  1. Its a f*****g Toque Ben!!!

    But in all seriousness, you should have contacted me, I love Hilton Falls. We went a week ago and we’ll be going this weekend again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Now that I know you go, we’ll have to meet up there at some point. Or maybe we can hit up Mountsberg or Crawford Lake and do the 14Km trail to Rattlesnake Point and back.

      Like

Leave a Reply

